I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 42

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio
Frank T. Ishizaki
Frank F. Blas, Jr.
Edward J.B. Calvo
James V. Espaldon
Mark Forbes
Judith Paulette Guthertz
J. A. Lujan
Tina Rose Muña Barnes
A. B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
R. J. Respicio
D. L.G. Shimizu
A. R. Unpingco
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to observing May 15, 2007 as "Peace Officers Memorial Day" and honoring those officers who have fallen in the line of duty, making the ultimate sacrifice to protect the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I

- 2 MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, on May 15, 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed
- 4 this day as "Peace Officers Memorial Day" to honor and recognize members
- 5 of the "Thin Blue Line"; and

WHEREAS, on this day we join one another, on Guam and across the nation, to pay tribute to the brave men and women who have selflessly dedicated their lives to upholding the law, protecting our citizens from criminal injustice, and ensuring that our communities are safe places to live; and

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

WHEREAS, as citizens, we can help prevent crime by cooperating with law enforcement officers and participating in volunteer programs such as neighborhood watch partnerships, civilian police reserves, homeland security and various public safety events; and

WHEREAS, our island leaders continue to support law enforcement personnel by providing the necessary means to protect peace officers and the island community; and

WHEREAS, on "Peace Officers Memorial Day", our island pays tribute to the men and women in law enforcement who have sacrificed their lives while protecting our island residents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, honor the men and women peace officers who have fallen in the line of duty by presenting the island's flags at half-staff; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, recognize May 15, 2007 as "Peace Officers Memorial Day"; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption

- 1 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the families of
- 2 those who sacrificed their lives in the line of duty: Police Officer I Francisco D.
- 3 Taitague; Police Officer I Juan M. Santos; Police Officer I Francisco A. Reyes;
- 4 Police Officer III Tomas M. Sablan; Police Reserve Officer Rudy C. Iglesias;
- 5 Police Reserve Officer Helen K. Lizama; Police Officer I Raymond S. Sanchez;
- 6 Police Officer I Manuel A. Aquino; Police Lieutenant Francisco G. Toves;
- 7 Police Officer I Eddie A. Santos; Conservation Officer Francisco M. Isezaki;
- 8 Drug Enforcement Agency Special Agent Larry D. Wallace; Corrections
- 9 Officer Douglas W. Mashburn; United States Air Force Airman Laurie Lucas;
- 10 United States Air Force Sgt. Stacey E. Levay; and also to the Guam Police
- 11 Department; to the Antonio B. Won Pat Guam International Airport
- 12 Authority; to the Guam Airport Police; to the Jose D. Leon Guerrero Port
- 13 Authority Police; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen
- 14 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 23RD DAY OF FEBRUARY 2007.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature